May Day


As I sit in my classes each day, classes that are expertly executed by the Center for Deployment Psychology, I complain to myself that my back hurts and the room is too cold.   What a sissy I’ve become in a week.

I’m ashamed to complain about discomfort so minimal,  when my son and others like him are physically uncomfortable most of the time.  After 40 hours of intense instruction, I have twenty more hours  of face to face instruction left between now and the end of the year.  These classes teach me how to assess the returning troops and then deliver evidence based treatment modalities that are proving to help and even heal those who are coming home unit by unit over the course of this year and next.  So many.

May Day was the perfect day to run across the story of Bea Cohen, who has spent her life serving her country and isn’t ready to stop just yet.

During World War II, Bea Cohen enlisted in the U.S. Army and was sent to England as a private first class. Her duties there included working in the communications department with top-secret documents.  Like so many other immigrants of that era, Bea stated that she joined the Army in order to give back to her newly adopted country.  Imagine that.  Giving Back.  Just for the privilege of being a U.S. citizen.  She became legally blind in 1990 and lost her husband, Marine gunnery sergeant Ray Cohen, in 2003.  In spite of this, she’s never shown signs of slowing down.  She still finds ways to give back to our service men and women.

I slept a lot today.  I attended yoga to release the pain that stuck around in my heart after the training.   With 24 hours between me and the training’s end,  I feel strong and ready to give back.  Grateful to have started the journey that will provide me the tools to do the work.  Besides  sending the occasional check to the USO, I haven’t done much to give back to the military men and women who watch my back so that I can feel relatively safe each night and day.

Thank you Bea Cohen.  You inspire me to give more, do more.

Leave a Reply

