Practice What You Preach


This is an old post I never published.  I don’t know why.  So I’m publishing it now.

Another unsettling dream for this military mom visited me in my sleep on Friday evening.  My son parachuting out of  a plane in his dress blues onto an American beach.  At least there was some comedy involved.  As far as I know, he’s not parachuting out of a plane onto U.S. beaches in his dress blues.  And as far as I know, the planes don’t look like a sardine can.  Yes, I know, at least I was able to frame the whole thing into a strange comedy in my altered state. The rest of it was a little disturbing, but rather than dwell on that part, I chuckled my way into the kitchen in an attempt to sketch the sardine plane, drank some  water, snuggled both pups and returned to bed when I felt tired enough to sleep again.

Part of my new “sleep hygiene” routine that is a form of cognitive behavioral therapy that I’m trying on myself in an effort to sleep better, so that I can teach it ethically to others. If I can’t live it, I can’t really teach it to clients.

I wait for his next communication all weekend, the weekend is over and it doesn’t come.  The last was Thursday. Unsettling.  So I zenned up and made him brownies with bourbon and bacon in them to go in his box tomorrow. I posted it on his Facebook page along with a hint that mother’s day was coming and that there were LOTS of women who cared about him that he could shop for on line during his down time.  This always gets a chuckle out of him, because he’s just not a shopper and he rarely gets “down time”.

When I wake up in a few short hours, the post will be there and if I’m lucky, he’ll be there too.

I could not report the lost children of this war this week or last week.  I plan to do a special posting as a tribute to them later this week.  I simply didn’t have it in me to do more than read their names and say a prayer for their families.  Tomorrow I will make my way to the post office to send another box, which assures me that he’s there, he’s safe and waiting to tear into it and share it with his buddies.

One thought on “Practice What You Preach

  1. dsrmills says:

    C-
    I have read all your posts.

    But please know your in my prayers & your son. He is the same age as my older son.

    Your Zen posts are very heartfelt. I cannot relate to having a son in the military but I am from a military family. And have clients who have lost family members or are/ have been in the military.
    I have been a strong activist since this war started. I too pray for the families, soldiers, others involved.

    I send you many blessings & prayers!

Leave a Reply

